The following appeared in a health magazine published in Corpora.

"Medical experts say that only one-quarter of Corpora's citizens meet the current standards for adequate physical fitness, even though twenty years ago, one-half of all of Corpora's citizens met the standards as then defined. But these experts are mistaken when they suggest that spending too much time using computers has caused a decline in fitness. Since overall fitness levels are highest in regions of Corpora where levels of computer ownership are also highest, it is clear that using computers has not made citizens less physically fit. Instead, as shown by this year's unusually low expenditures on fitness-related products and services, the recent decline in the economy is most likely the cause, and fitness levels will improve when the economy does."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument given in the magazine is based on lot of assumptions. In start of the argument it assume that medical experts are able to cover all the population of corpora for test of physical fitness. May be it is possible that they do not cover all the population and it was one fourth of population they were able to test that was found fit. Because if that is the case then we cannot compare these results from previous results and statistics are wrong. Also same case can also happen twenty years ago since then it was more difficult to test large people in less amount of time due to lack in technologies and reach. So it can happen that many people that were not fit was not even tested back. Hence if we do not consider all these assumptions then there is serious flaw in these statistics.

It also assumes that current and twenty year back fitness standard are comparable. Obviously they are not. After that when argument is stated that experts were mistaken, it is also based on assumption that computer is owned by that people who are overall physically. It is possible that less percentage of people who are overall fit buys the computer and more percentage of people who are not overall fit buys computer. Because in this way level of computer ownership will be highest but not by the physically fit but more by unfit people. So that experts claim that spending too much on computer cause decline in health may be true .

In the last of argument first it assume that if people buy fitness related products or services then they will actually use it regularly to improve their health. Many people are like that they do not use these services regularly even if they buy it. And so their health will not be improved. After that it assumes that decline in economy causes that people are not buying these fitness products, as they will be costly and not affordable. This is not true as there can be many reasons that people are not buying fitness product apart from being costly. Some of them can be because many people are not interested in doing regular exercise. Or due to daily and hectic life people are not getting time for all these activities and in their leisure time simply want to relax rather doing exercise by these products. Hence it is not true that when economy will improve then actually fitness products sale will increase.

In this way there are serious flaws in this arguments based in these assumptions.