The following appeared in a health newsletter.

"A ten-year nationwide study of the effectiveness of wearing a helmet while bicycling indicates that ten years ago, approximately 35 percent of all bicyclists reported wearing helmets, whereas today that number is nearly 80 percent. Another study, however, suggests that during the same ten-year period, the number of accidents caused by bicycling has increased 200 percent. These results demonstrate that bicyclists feel safer because they are wearing helmets, and they take more risks as a result. Thus, there is clearly a call for the government to strive to reduce the number of serious injuries from bicycle accidents by launching an education program that concentrates on the factors other than helmet use that are necessary for bicycle safety."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The writer in his letter states that the reason for the rise in bicycle-related accidents is due to the increase in the use of helmets by cyclists. However, while the conclusion drawn by the author might hold water, it rests on unfounded assumptions that, if not substantiated, would dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the argument. Thus before the argument can be properly evaluated and analyze, the following pieces of evidence must be provided.

First, the writer states that the reason for the rise in accidents is that the cyclists while employing safety measures by use of helmets, feel safer, and are subsequently willing to take more risks. It is possible, however, that there are several other reasons for the accidents. For instance, it is possible that motorists are not being properly trained in road safety and they contribute to a large amount of cycling-related accidents. Or perhaps, the road conditions have deteriorated within the ten year period and the precarious state of the roads has contributed to an increase in accidents, both cycling and vehicular related. If either of these scenarios is true, then the conclusion drawn by the writer is significantly weakened.

Secondly, the writer also assumes that within the ten year period, there has not been a substantial increase in the number of cyclists, possibly doubling or tripling the figure, thereby rendering the argument that accidents are caused mainly by negligence flawed. For instance, if the number of cyclists ten years ago was 100 with 20 reported cycling accidents and the population has dramatically increased to 1000, then a 200% increase in accidents does not properly reflect the distribution of the population. Perhaps, the government currently has measures in place to educate cyclists about bicycle safety and impose strong sanctions on the use of helmets. If the author provides evidence as regards the issues above, then his argument can be strengthened.

In conclusion, the arguments as it stands is fundamentally flawed. In order for the writer to substantiate his claim, evidence in support of the points stated above have to be provided. This evidence would ascertain if the rise in accidents is solely due to negligence on the part of the cyclist are there are other reasons why there has been a spike in reported cases.