The following appeared in a health newsletter."A ten-year nationwide study of the effectiveness of wearing a helmet while bicycling indicates that ten years ago, approximately 35 percent of all bicyclists reported wearing helmets, whereas today that numbe

In the argument, the author comes to a conclusion that the government should pay attention to the safety education instead of taking measures, such as wearing a helmet, to protect bicyclists themselves. To illustrate the effectiveness of the argument, the author provided several assumptions, however, not convincing enough to persuade us.

In the beginning, the author assumes that a ten-year nationwide study can prove that there are more people wearing helmets now than ten years before. But the number 35 percent and 80 percent are just two specific percentages of the report, rather than direct numbers. It is entirely possible that nowadays few people wear helmets, only if the total number bicyclists is much less than ten years ago. The author fails to provide accurate numbers of the bicyclists, thus we can not have a comparison of the bicyclist changes through the ten years.

In addition, the author assumes that another survey shows that the bicycle-related accidents has increased dramatically in the same ten-year period. However, the author doesn’t explain the agency who conducted the survey, the total number of the sample and the location where the researchers did the study. Without the details, we can not trust in the representative, accuracy and the equality of the study. Even if the study is convincible, the arguer fails to present an exact number of the increase. Only with a percentage provided, the author can not make an assumption about the accidents happened throughout the ten years.

Granted that there do exists more accidents, and there are more people wearing the helmets, the author still can not assume that there have a correlation between the helmets wearing and accidents. In fact, there might be some other factors that cause the increase of the accidents, for example, the less favorable conditions of the road, or the more often bad weathers. Perhaps, the high speed cars which rush into the bicycle lane might also be the reason of more accidents. Without ruling out the these and other alternative explanations, the author fails to convince us that there have a cause of effect between the helmets wearing and the number of accidents.

In sum, the vague data, the skepticism of the authentic of the study and the fault cause and effect relation all undermines the convincible of the argument. Without providing more details about the study and ruling out other possible explanations, the author cannot convince us that the government should not encouraging or requiring bicyclists to wear helmets.