Although innovations such as video, computers, and the Internet seem to offer schools improved methods for instructing students, these technologies all too often distract from real learning. - GRE Issue 119

To improve the education quality, schools tend to induce high-technological equipment to cultivate students’ interests in different subjects. Powerpoint, video, online classes and computers are getting involved in students’ daily study life. Critics hold the view that these technologies might have negative effects on students, for example, distracting students for real learning. From where I stand, whether these technologies have advantages or disadvantages for students who are using them needs to be considered in different aspects.

Firstly, to demonstrate if high-technology methods have conflicts with real learning, the definition of “real learning” need to be definite clearly. There are several domains in real learning, such as building students’ personalities, teaching them knowledge, cultivating their communication skills and so on. When considering technologies used in forming one’s value and personality, there might exist some shortages. Internet gives people a masque to disguise themselves, so that people on the other side of the electronic devices can not distinguish them. Young people, especially students are lacking abilities to tell right from wrong, thus they are more possible to be exposed in a unsafe environment. The using of the Internet may mislead students to a more dangerous way.

In addition, with the booming of the social media, chatting online gives people more convenience to communicate with each other, both familiar persons and strangers. Facebook, as one of the most popular social media around the world, has attracted more than 200 million users, which provided people with a more extensive area to get to know different people from varies places. When fostering students communication skills, they can have an excellent place to practice what they have learned through teachers.

However, when “real learning” refers to getting knowledge and broadening students horizons, video, computers and Internet definitely can promote educational quality. According to a research conducted by Today’s Education Journal, when getting in touch with the knowledge in watching, listening, reading and writing, students’ learning efficiency can increase about 40%, comparing to those methods only provided students one or two ways to learn. Though vision equipment, for example, video or powerpoint, students can have a more direct impression on the subjects they learn, which will absolutely contribute to their studies.

In sum, without careful categories, nobody can make a conclusion on whether using technologies might distract students from real learning. Every coin has two sides, the best way to maximum the advantages and minimize the disadvantages of the technologies on education is to use them on specific circumstances.