"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned wit

In the argument, the author comes to a conclusion that the television station should restore weather and local news program in order to attract more viewers and advertisements. Two evidences are provided by the author, firstly, the television station received more complaints about weather and local news programs; secondly, there were less advertising revenues. However, evidences are not convincing in several aspects to prove the conclusion.

To begin with, the author argues that most of the complaints received from viewers were related to weather and local news after cutting the time for those programs. Nevertheless, the author does not point out the specific number and the total percentage of the complaints. Through a vague description, rather than definite number, we can not judge whether a large number of viewers expect to watch more programs of weather and local news. Thus, it is hard to evaluate if increase the time of weather and local news programs will attract more viewers.

What’s more, the arguer connects the cancelling of the advertising contracts with less weather and local news programs, which is doubtful. There is no evidence in the argument illustrates that the company concealed their advertising because of more national news program. With no cause and effect, less weather and local news programs has no relationship with the advertising contracts. The author needs to provide more evidences about the connection between the two events.

Finally, the author believes that once the television station prolongs the weather and local news programs’ time to its former level, there will be an increase in viewers and advertising revenues, which is incredible. There are no social and culture environments mentioned in the argument, before and after the curtailment of the programs’ time. Thus, we can not verdict if the longer weather and local news program as former level works well. For example, people would like to watch more sports program during the Olympic Games instead of weather programs. Without more evidences provided, the conclusion makes by the author is still suspicious.

In sum, the author needs to provide the exact number of people who complaint about the shortage of weather and local news programs, more details about the connection between the curtailment of the programs and the concealing of the advertising contracts, as well as the environment of the audiences watching television programs. Unless more evidences are provided, we can not reach the conclusion which the author points out.