The following appeared in a health newsletter.

"A ten-year nationwide study of the effectiveness of wearing a helmet while bicycling indicates that ten years ago, approximately 35 percent of all bicyclists reported wearing helmets, whereas today that number is nearly 80 percent. Another study, however, suggests that during the same ten-year period, the number of accidents caused by bicycling has increased 200 percent. These results demonstrate that bicyclists feel safer because they are wearing helmets, and they take more risks as a result. Thus, there is clearly a call for the government to strive to reduce the number of serious injuries from bicycle accidents by launching an education program that concentrates on the factors other than helmet use that are necessary for bicycle safety."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument for concentrating on safety factors other than helmets is made through undefined assumptions, mainly bicyclists are taking more risks as a result of feeling safer, thus it is rendered invalid.

The argument references two studies, one that surveys the percentage of bicyclists that wore helmets while the other reports the number of accidents caused by bicyclists. To start, very little is known about these studies. Did they survey the same populations? How was an accident defined to be caused by a cyclist? These are simply assumed with no support, and these assumptions and ambiguities leave many gaps in the argument. It’s very possible, for example, that the total number of cyclists has decreased in the ten-year span while the accident count remained constant. This would increase the percentage of accidents, but not because of riskier cycling, but rather because of proportions. The demographics of each study are also not specified. It would not be surprising to see a study yielding more accident counts in a congested city as opposed to a suburban environment. The first study could have been with one population, while the second with another. They would not be the same and thus could not imply valid correlations.

Furthermore, the argument fails to eliminate all factors besides the use of helmets in the cause of accidents. How do we know that a rise in accident rates is not due to something else, such as a rise in traffic, a change in terrain, or increased risk of distraction? To make a stronger case for recommending the government program, a more specialized and focused study needs to take place the does well to eliminate these as potential causes for accidents.

In addition, there is no guarantee that a bicyclist wearing a helmet feels safer, and thus will take more risks while biking. This couple of assumptions is not given support in the text. Indeed, one may still feel unsafe bicycling through heavy city traffic even though they have a helmet on. Likewise, a helmet isn’t a cause for riskier travel, and the newsletter gives no evidence of this to strengthen its argument. A person wearing a helmet could be wearing one for the exact opposite reason, and that they are actually a very cautious cyclist.

In summary, the studies are too ambiguous and assuming to be valid and correct enough to take into consideration for mentioned program. The idea that bicyclists are taking more risks due to wearing helmets is simply not supported because of the gaps left open by the newsletter.