The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

“On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island’s moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville’s town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals.”

In the letter, the writer suggests that the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds in order to reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians. He takes the example of the neighboring island of Seaville as an example to explain the efficiency of his recommendation. After carefully examining the reasons, we may ask some questions about the suggestion.

First of all, the writer points out that the number of mopeds as a popular form of transportation resulting in accidents should be limited on Balmer Island in the Summer months, in which the population increases to 100000. This means that the use of the mopeds during the Summer months of the dramatically rising population leads to the accidents on the island. However, though the population rises, do they bring about the accidents ignoring the safety awareness? Don’t they choose other tools of transportation, except mopeds? Are the Summer months the major months of accidents? Spring? Autumn? And winter? Furthermore, other tool of transportation, though it is not popular, may be the main object to give rise to the accidents on Balmer Island.

Secondly, the number of mopeds rented by the island’s moped rental companies is limited to 25 per day from 50 per day in order to attain the 50% annual moped accidents during the summer season. Does the prohibition take effect? Perhaps, people buy mopeds instead of rent, and the number of mopeds used every day may increase to more than 50. Most importantly, what does the ban suggested by the writer depend on? Is the volume of traffic on Bamler Island only 50 sets of mopeds per day? Is it the best the measure that the town council limits the number of mopeds rented by the island’s moped rental companies to reduce moped accidents? Can’t the town council take traffic control measures to improve traffic flows or other ways rather than the ban mentioned by the writer?

Finally, the writer says that the neighboring island of Seaville obtained its 50% annual reduction in moped accidents by limiting the number of rentals last year. Is it sure that Balmer Island can achieve the same effect if the town council takes the same measure? Maybe, there is no effect on Balmer, for the traffic situations of two islands are completely different—the roads of Balmer Island are very stiff and rugged, but that of Seaville is quite the opposite. Moreover, the town council of Seaville island may take auxiliary steps to reduce moped accidents, for example, they arrange more staffs to keep the traffic order in the summer season.

As a result, according to the information supplied by the writer, it isn’t enough to persuade the town council of Balmer Island to limit the number of mopeds rented by the island’s moped rental companies in order to reduce the accidents caused by mopeds. To support the recommendation, the writer should provide more data about the moped-pedestrian accident rate in all the accidents on Balmer Island, give more facts on implementing the limitation of rental mopeds on Seaville Island for the Balmer island reference.