The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of the letter is writing a letter to Balmer Island city councils requesting the council to reduce the number of mopeds that can be available to rent during the summer season from the original 50 mopeds per day to a revised 25 mopeds per day per company. The author states that by reducing the number of mopeds that can be rented per day during the summer season, will reduce attain the 50% annual in moped accidents. The evidence that the author of this letter presents is that the neighboring island of Seaville achieved these results with similar moped restrictions to the number of mopeds that can be rented per day. It should be important to evaluate the claim provided by the author of the letter prior to making changes to moped renting policy. These questions must be answered in order for such a policy to be made official.

First of all, are mopeds a popular mode of transportation at Seaville as they are at Balmer? It is possible that mopeds are not as popular at Seaville, and that cutting the number of moped rentals allowed per day by a company had no real impact on the number of mopeds on the road. If this scenario has merit, then the author’s claim that reducing the number of rented mopeds per day will reduce the number of accidents has weakened.

Secondly, will reducing the number of mopeds during the summer season produce a 50% annual reduction in moped accidents? The author assumes that during the summer season that it is the tourists that are responsible for the vast majority of moped accidents. However, what if research collected from a year long study provided evidence that moped accidents happen at a consistent rate year long, and there is not a spike of the number of accidents during the summer season. A study like this, can provide evidence to weaken the author’s argument about needing to reduce the number of mopeds that can be rented per day during just the summer season.

What if the majority of moped accidents that take place on Balmer Island are caused by people who actually own mopeds and not by those who rent? In this case, reducing the number of mopeds that can be rented my not have a direct impact on moped related accidents. Since it maybe possible that people who own mopeds are responsible for most of the accidents on Balmer Island. If this scenario has merit, then the author’s conclusion from his argument has weakened.

In conclusion, as the argument is flawed, as it stands now. There are too many assumptions that the author relies on for this argument to be valid. If answers are able to be provided to the three previously mentioned scenarios, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the claim that reducing the number of mopeds rented per day will help to decrease the number of moped accidents.