The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"The population on Balmer Island increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island plans to limit the number of mopeds rented by each of the island's six moped rental companies from 50 per day to 30 per day during the summer season. Last year, the neighboring island of Torseau enforced similar limits on moped rentals and saw a 50 percent reduction in moped accidents. We predict that putting these limits into effect on Balmer Island will result in the same reduction in moped accidents."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author of the passage claims that the number of rentals on mopeds a day in Balmer island is a direct correlation to the number of accidents on moped. He endorses this claim providing a fact that Torseau, a neighboring island, enforcing reduction in the number of rentals a day witnessed a steep reduction in the accidents. This essay will elaborate in detail, alternate explanations that contradict the author's idea on solving the problem.

First, the author has no gaurantee that setting up a limit control as in Balmer island will reinforce the same effect in Balmer as well. He is missing other important factors into consideration that can more likely influence the occurance of an accident. For example, the road conditions heavily sneak its signifance on the effect of driving. Even if, Balmer island rental enterprises are to limit the number of daily rentals unless the standards for road are established the probability of accidents is going to remain unchanged. Hence, the author has to have a clear consideration of other significant factors that most lilkely attribute to an accident.

Second, the author plainly considers limiting the number of motorbikes on road at any given time will definitely yield better control against accidents. But, what if the terrain of Balmer islands is so erratic and has numerous blind turns and tortuous roads? The author might have to plan setting up safety standards for driving at Balmer island by smoothening blind curves, providing reflectors at corners, rerouting possible dangerous lanes to much safer alternate lanes.

Third, the visitors and the natives can be driven through a safety course on driving. Explaining the various intricacies involved in driving such a terrain. This teaching might well enlighten the public on the significance of safe driving. Also, the Balmer island road safety commission can come up with a speed limt, that restrict the people on motorbikes to safe speed. Last, thorough inspection of the mopeds on roads must be established. What if, the very vehicle is flawed? May be they are all from a same manufacturer, whose mopeds are not really meant for the driving standards in Balmer island.

Summarily, the author has to consider alternate factors in place to analyse the issue meticulously rather than jumping to conclusions comparing results of a neighboring island. The safety standards of road and bicycle itself need to be monitored to allow detailed analysis. Additionally, a course on driving can very well bring out awareness of the hineous nature of the accidents and its prone victims.