Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The author takes a hand on supporting scandals. He claims so because they direct our attention on ways that no speaker or reformer ever could. I respect the statement put forth by the author. However, I stand a side opposing the claim that scandals are useful.I believe that they bring forward numerous riots and unbalance in the society.

Firstly, scandals are not likely to be true. There is no authenticity on creating a libel on the organisation or the person associated with it. It simply creates a sensation to asperson the idea or the topic associated with the scandal. For example, not so far there was a scandal about the Reserve Minister, Raghuram Krishnan who was accused of looting money on laundering. His case was never clearly stated and from just an anamolous source of fact, he was confronted of involving in the money launder issue. It indeed, spoiled his reputation though the scandal was true or not in the first place. Later, an investigation was held on the same and he was pronounced not guilty. Imagine the scenario, until the verdict was out he was literally thrown down of dignity and image. He was threated of the accuse. So, I clearly can state that scandals are just a piece of social nuisence that are played over the big shots.

Secondly, the scandals and scams relating to any political or social affairs generally evoke people into riots and create a law and order problem. These are very cleverly used as a scheme by the politicians of an opposition party to stir up revolts against the ruling party, misleading the people into traps of hopelessness. So the idea of scandals if hadn't been evolving would supress a lot of such unrest and aid the common in not falling a trap for the cunning political minds

Thirdly, scandals are generally used a means to becloud people from another major issue or a problem predominantly affecting the people at stake. For example, when the scam about the 3G spectrum in India was at its peak the innocent public were diverted into a scandal of the actor Amir Khan calling India an Intolerable Nation. This was clearly an evasive way to conceal the much bigger picture of 3G spectrum scam behind. The public were fooled diverting them into a pointlessly silly controversy of an actor's speech.

Thus, I conclude saying that though scandals may in some way truly alarm attention to problems not on the scope of thought by reformers or media they spoil the reputation whatsoever of the body or the person connected with the scandal. Also, because there is no evidence of proof to support the claim of the scandals it turns a no point of approach to be believed.