The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette."The population on Balmer Island increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Is

The argument states that reducing the number of mopeds rented by each of the island's six moped rentals companies from 50 per day to 30 per day during the summer season will result in a reduction in accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians. However, the line of reasoning provided in the argument is rife with unsubstantiated assumptions and weak evidence, which weakens its force.

To begin with, the author does not provide any data about the current state and number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians in Balmer Islands. There is also no relative evidence to suggest that an increase in the population during the summer months leads to an increase in the number of moped accidents.

Also, the author does not provide any information whether the people involved in moped accidents are tourists or citizens of Balmer Islands. Providing this information would put light on the fact that whether the mopeds involved in the accidents were even rented by the tourists or owned by the local people. Maybe the poor driving skills of the local people are to blame for the accidents.

Moreover, not providing any data about the accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians can also bring the question that whether the locations of the accidents are different or the same or are they only happening in busy markets or in places which are empty ? As, poor traffic rules in a particular area or bad infrastructure of markets to handle large crowds may the reason for the accidents.

Furthermore, the author also assumes that reducing the number of moped rentals will have the same effect on the number of accidents in Balmer Islands as it had in the Island of Torseau. The author fails to think that the condition in both the islands may be different and maybe something else done in Torseua Islands could have reduced the number of moped accidents.

To conclude, the argument in its current state lacks substantial ground. Thus, the author needs to provide further evidence to clarify the above the stated assumptions to strenthen his or her claim.