the following appeared in a letter to the editor of a Batavia newspaper."The department of agriculture in Batavia reports that the number of dairy farms throughout the country is now 25 percent greater than it was 10 years ago. During this same time perio

The person who wrote the letter observes an increase in both the number of dairy farms and the prices of milk. They conclude that these farms must be getting more profits than they should, because with more farms the prices should drop. There could be several other reasons why this is the case, and it is probably a mix of several:

Most importantly, the milk that we buy today might not be the same as it was 10 years ago. Milk needs to be treated so that it can be rated safe for consumption. The procedures on how to do it could have changed during these years. Some practices might be enforced more effectively today, and some practices may have been banned for safety, humane or other reasons.

Also, $1 today is not the same as $1 from 10 years ago. Of course, inflation does not usually halve the value of currency in 10 years, but it could be part of the reason why prices have increased.

Of course, it could also be that prices are artificially inflated, and that most farmers agree to do it. However, the increase in the number of farms makes this less likely, not more. More farms means more competition, which pushes farmers to drop their prices. All it takes is one farm to not agree to do this, and the whole conspiracy would be foiled.

Plus, the farmers aren't the ones who decide what price you pay at the store. The middleman is usually the one who rises the price the most from farm to store. Maybe nowadays milk is imported from further away, or it is distributed by only a few companies, and those companies are the ones artificially inflating their prices.

In conclusion, to figure out why the prices have risen, we should look not only at the farmers, but also at the milk itself and the middleman. Until we have that information, all we can do is speculate.