True success can be measured primarily in terms of the goals one sets for oneself.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you ta

The statement transmits the message that if you have a worthy goal, you have most of what it takes to truly succeed. This view is quite idealistic in a world in which success is measured not by your intentions, but by the outcomes of your actions. While the latter approach is too pragmatic and can lead to loss of morale or hope, the former goes too much in the other direction and can lead to resentment or delusion.

We are complicated beings living in a harsh world. We don't find fulfillment in goals that are too easy to obtain, but in goals that take dedication, determination, skill, boldness... Not only that, but the consequences of attaining these goals should improve your life, or someone else's. Some say that having the goal is already enough, even if you fail at reaching it. While the reasoning behind this has some truth to it, having the goal is essential, but ultimately insufficient. It is true that some people never try anything big because they think it's absurd that a "normal" person can achieve great things. But some people also believe that just by being determined enough, all their goals will be accomplished. This can lead to the usual "I'm a misunderstood genius" syndrome, which is anything but success. Success implies having a goal, a specific plan to achieve it, and several extra plans for when the first plan fails. It implies both intention and action.

The statement could be trying to mean that "true success" is something like happiness or fulfillment, for which the most important ingredient is a goal. This might be true for some people, but for most of us the journey is about as important as the destination. Plus, if you dedicate your life to attain some goal and actually try to do it, it is very unlikely that you will see no results.

In summary, true success is measured by both the goals and how close you get to attaining them. The goals measure ambition, and the results measure ability. You need both to succeed.