The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a journal on environmental issues.

"Over the past year, the Crust Copper Company (CCC) has purchased over 10,000 square miles of land in the tropical nation of West Fredonia. Mining copper on this land will inevitably result in pollution and, since West Fredonia is the home of several endangered animal species, in environmental disaster. But such disasters can be prevented if consumers simply refuse to purchase products that are made with CCC's copper unless the company abandons its mining plans."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the editorial, it had been stated that, the Crust Copper Company had been mining on 10,000 squares of miles of land in tropical nation of west Fredonia which is leading to pollution and threatening of several endangered animals. In order to solve this issue, they had suggested that a simple abandonment of the consumer to the products of the CCC’s copper can provide solution. However, before this recommendation can be made, the author should be to answer following three questions.

Firstly, are all the consumers apprised of the threatening issue being produced by the mining of the Crust Copper Company? The author has prematurely assumed that the all the consumers are savvy about this threatening issue and had baselessly made conclusion that the abandoning of the products can solve the problem. May be, the majority of the consumer may be unaware about the problem being issued by mining. These customers may continue to use the products of CCC company and the problem may not be solved. If this scenario is true than the conclusion made would be significantly weakened.

Furthermore, can just refusing the use of the product by the customer of west Fredonia be sufficient enough to pressurize the company to stop the mining? Can we make the generalization based on only this refusing that the proper pressure would appear on the company? Perhaps the company might sell the copper to other business tycoon, who make the other copper product from other company name, might disregard their regular customer. If this scenario will occur than the company sell of the copper would not reduce and the pressure made by the customer would in vain. The argument made above would be totally baseless.

Finally, can refusing the product might solve the problem of loss of habitat of endangered species? Perhaps beside from the mining there might be some other issues which might have led to threatening the endangered species from their habitat. However, there might be the problem of inadequacy of the food due to climate change which might be the reason for the threatening of the animals. If this is the case just by refusing the company’s product would not give solution to the problem of endangered species.

In conclusion, as stated now, the argument made above is totally baseless because of its reliance on the baseless evidence and assumptions. So, the author should be able to give the answer to the above question or should provide more evidence, before the above suggestion can be considered.