The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a journal on environmental issues.

"Over the past year, the Crust Copper Company (CCC) has purchased over 10,000 square miles of land in the tropical nation of West Fredonia. Mining copper on this land will inevitably result in pollution and, since West Fredonia is the home of several endangered animal species, in environmental disaster. But such disasters can be prevented if consumers simply refuse to purchase products that are made with CCC's copper unless the company abandons its mining plans."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the letter to the editor, the author concludes that an environmental disaster can be prevented if consumers simply refuse to purchase products that are made with CCC’s copper. This argument is hinged on some unproven assumptions which are 1. The 10000 square miles land purchased by Crust Copper Company (CCC) is meant for mining. 2. That inevitably, mining of copper in West Fredonia will result to pollution and environmental disasters.

First, the author has made a hasty generalization. The fact that CCC is a copper company do not translate that the 10,000 square miles it has acquired in the tropical nation of West Fredonia will be used for mining copper. It could be use for the production of refined copper materials used for other purposes. It may serve as its manufacturing hub because West Fredonia has cheap labor force that invariably will reduce cost of manpower. To bolster this argument the author ought to have provided empirical data that clearly suggests that the recent purchased lands will be used for mining.

In addition, the author failed to show statistical data that outline the existence of a sizeable amount of copper in the tropical nation. If there in fact exist no such data, it means that the assumption that the land will be used for mining is particularly unwarranted and baseless. Mining occurs in places were there is large deposit of such minerals and failure to substantiate the above makes the argument unfounded.

Even, if there exist a sizeable amount of copper deposit and the acquired land is to be used for mining. This does not translate to having an inevitable environmental disaster. Some of the questions that the author failed to answer are: Does West Fredonia have a very sound policy on mining which companies like CCC has to follow. If this is the case, then it means that CCC practice in mining of the copper must follow industry standards outlined by the tropical nation which will prevent possible environment disaster. The author assumed that no such policy exists without evidence to substantiate such claim.

Furthermore, the mere fact that West Fredonia is home to endangered species does not translate to a claim that mining of coppers will lead to environmental disasters. What are the practices in the country before now that has contributed to the extinction of those species? Is mining of copper the reason or sole reason why these species are going into extinction or there are other factors like indiscriminate hunting and other practice. If there exist other factors then it is particularly unwarranted to rely on the aforementioned assumptions.

Though, I concede that if consumers simply refuse to purchase products that are made with CCC’s copper, then it will greatly impact sales and revenues of the company. This leaves out the possibility that if CCC’s products are particularly cheap compared to their competitors then consumers may still buy their products even if their mining practices impacts the environment. Also, companies usually weigh the cost of their practices and evaluate how it affects their profitability so if the cost of mining copper in West Fredonia is less than the fall out resulting from such practice then I am afraid that the company will not abandon its mining plans.

In sum, the author most substantiate with evidence that there exists a sizeable amount of copper in the tropical nation of West Fredonia, that CCC’s mining policy is detrimental to the environment and would lead to inevitably environmental disaster, and that mining of copper is solely related to the extinction of species in West Fredonia and that consumers will refuse to purchase products made with CCC’s copper. Failure to substantiate these claims with evidence renders the assumptions unwarranted and the argument invalid.