The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a local newspaper.

"Commuters complain that increased rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time. The favored proposal of the motorists' lobby is to widen the highway, adding an additional lane of traffic. But last year's addition of a lane to the nearby Green Highway was followed by a worsening of traffic jams on it. A better alternative is to add a bicycle lane to Blue Highway. Many area residents are keen bicyclists. A bicycle lane would encourage them to use bicycles to commute, and so would reduce rush-hour traffic rather than fostering an increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument put forth here is that due to increased rush hour traffic on blue highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled the commuting time. To resolve this problem it is being proposed that a bicycle lane should be added on the highway which will incentivize the keen resident bicyclers to use this lane thereby reducing rush hour traffic. Another proposal of adding an additional lane of traffic was also made but was revoked due to failure of an additional highway on green highway last year which made the traffic problem worse. I cast my doubt on the validity of arguments put forward to support the conclusion and according to me, they require further evaluation.

It is possible that bicyclers may not use the specialized lane because they may be reluctant to ride on a national highway and may prefer local roads.

A proposal for addition of another lane on the highway was revoked citing the last year failure of additional lane on the Green Highway reducing such problem. This argument requires further evaluation as it is possible that that route was very busy and many people chose to use the highway abjuring the use of local roads thereby worsening the issue. It is possible that there may exist a flaw in the designing of that additional lane and may have caused a severe traffic jam. But an analysis of the failure of that project should be done and this additional lane on highway between suburbs and city center may resolve the current issue.

Further the authorities are planning to add an additional bicycle lane on the highway so that bicyclers would use this lane thereby reducing the problem. This arguments needs to be evaluated thoroughly. What if the cause of the jam is not bicyclers? What if the bicyclers are reluctant using a national highway due to increased speed of four wheeler? Will this proposal really solves the actual problem or will just provide an additional space for the traffic to move? These questions are to be thoroughly evaluated. May be and additional lane is the best solution to the problem.

Well, reaching at a conclusion so early may not solve this huge problem or may worsen this problem so authorities are advised to evaluate the proposal thoroughly and experts opinion should be sought and then any decision should be taken.