The following was written as a part of an application for a small-business loan by a group of developers in the city of Monroe.

"A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. Currently, the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away; thus, the proposed new jazz club in Monroe, the C-Note, would have the local market all to itself. Plus, jazz is extremely popular in Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer; several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe; and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight at 7 P.M. Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument that is proposed in this prompt is that a Jazz music club in the city of Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprises. This conclusion is based on the premises that there are many listeners to Jazz and it will have a great local market, it got further reinforced by the argument that last year over 100,000 people attended annual Jazz festival and a radio program that is aired with the name 'Jazz Nightly' is highest rated program in Monroe. Furthermore the conclusion is then reinforced by indicating a nationwide study that jazz fans spends close to $1000 per year on Jazz entertainment. I would cast my doubt on the premises and i opined that these premises should be further evaluated in detail. How would a nation wide study indicates a more profitibility in just a city? How may subjects were analyzed in that study? Among how many shows was Jazz Nightly was the highest? Let us discuss the flaws in the argumnts presented.

It is said that last year over 100,000 people attended his annual Jazz festival last summer. It is not specifically mentioned about the day on which such festival happened. It might be weekend and that is why many people attended the festival.There might be many persons who are not fans of Jazz music but they attended it just as an outing or some people might have attended it just out of curiosity. Saying merely that 100,000 people attended the show is not a conclusive evidence of Jazz music popularity in that specific area. This argument has to be evaluated further.

The second argument that has to be evaluated is that 'Jazz Nightly' the radio program that is air every week night at 7 P.M. is highest rated. The suspicion that arouses is that, among how many shows is 'Jazz Nightly' rated highest? Was it rated highest among all boring shows and radio listeners don't have any other choice than listening 'Jazz Nightly'?Furthermore, Is 7 P.M. the prime time on radio? Because shows aired on prime time are the ones rated highest.Therefore i believe that this argument need more germane data to be analyzed well.

The conclusion was then bolstered by the argument that a nation wide study was conducted and it was found that Jazz fans spends close to $1000 on Jazz entertainment. It seems that the argument is not complete in itself. The number of subjects that were analyzed during this study are not mentioned and moreover, were those subjects were sufficient to represent the nation wide population correctly? And how could a nation wide survey irrefutbly indicates that the Jazz music club in Monroe will be successful as it may not even include any subject from the city of Monroe. A city wide survey would be more appropriate to reach any conclusion and this argument has to evaluated well with in-depth data.

Therefore i am of the opinion that the arguments presented to reinforce the conclusions are not complete and thus requires further in-depth evaluation and any conclusion that is based on the arguments presented above may lead to opposite repercussions .