An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

__________

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument that is broached here is that in response to the deficiency of Vitamin-A among the people of impoverished nation of Tagus, an international development organization has engineered a new breed of millet that is high in Vitamin - A. Though this millet is costlier than the already available in market, farmers will be paid subsidies by the government and because the millet is the staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt to this new variety of seed. The argument emphasized that the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet. I opine that the available data is inadequate to reach at any conclusion. For instance, is there any scientific research on this millet? Was this breed of Millet authorized by the health agencies at national and international level? Will the seed grow properly? And will there be adequate harvest to feed everyone in this impoverished country?

The success of this plan is based on the subsidies that will be provided to the farmers as the seed is costly. Now that's a plan whose validity is suspected. How will the subsidies provided? Will they credit the amount in the farmers banks? If yes, how will the farmers make the initial payment of the seed which is market value of that seed as they are already impoverished and poor. Will the distribution agency be successful in providing subsidy to each and every farmer of the country? Therefore the plan of distribution of subsidy money has to be evaluated well.

The argument is then bolstered by the premise that the Millet is the staple food of the people of Tagus and people of Tagus will surely adopt them. I feel that this argument seems to be an extrapolation. It is possible that the taste of the harvest of this new seed differs and people may not like it. It is emphasized in the passage that the government of Tagus should do everything to combat the deficiency of vitamin-A. It is possible that in such a impoverished nation like one as Tagus there may exist other deficiencies among people which government has to look after. If all the resources are spent to combat only the deficiency of Vitamin-A, how will they fight other problems?

A thought must be given about the production of this seed. Is there any scientific research available to bolster the claim that the millet is vitamin-A enrich?

Will this seed produce enough millet that can feed the entire country? and Will this seed grow in the environment of Tagus, otherwise all the efforts undertaken to combat this deficiency will be futile. It must be further evaluated that the seed should be given green flag by the health authorities nationally and internationally.

So, if the plan is to combat this deficiency proper measures should be taken and any decision that this based on inadequate data will produce only futile repercussions. Any important decision related to public health should be taken after due diligence and only after considering all the facts, therefore i believe that the concerned authorities should analyze this proposal well and must consider all the variables before giving a green light.