Company X has just switched to a 4-day workweek, mandating that employees work 10 hours per day from Monday to Thursdaybinstead of 8 hours per day from Monday to Friday. Although the policy is new, Company X claims that the policy would help to increase profits by shutting down offices on Friday and to boost employee morale by reducing commuting time to and from work each week.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Company X claims that by switching to a four day work week the company will have increased profits and such plan will boost up the morale of the employees as they will have to travel less to and from the office every week. This idea seems to be propitious for the organization but it depends on several assumptions that may not be valid at all. If these assumptions proves to be false this proposal may bring negative effects for the company. It is possible that company may save some cost from keeping office shut even on Fridays but the repercussions may be opposite to what has been thought. The commuting time is what emphasized the most in the argument but there could be employees who do not care at all about the commuting time and distance.

The first assumption that is stated here is that this plan will increase profits but I am of the opinion that the policy maker did not consider the cons of such actions. Several operation takes place in the company on the daily basis like sales, calls of customers for their grievances, supply of material and all this will get severely hampered. The company may loose the customers which may buy company’s products on Friday, as a man of ordinary prudence would consider Friday as a working day and as a result of a non working the customer may exploit other options and company may loose a prospective customer. Also any product is subject to repairs and any contingency related to that product may arise in front of the customer, they might call the company’s helpline and will get no response from the other end, this could really bring bad results for the company. The supply chain of the company will also get halted as the supplier may not be able to deliver the raw materials on the Friday.

The second Assumption which bolsters this argument is that the morale of the employees will increase as they will have to commute less to arrive to the office and go back to their home. But there may exist some employees who are not affected by this commuting as they may reach office in five minutes by walk, so for these employee this alleged morale boosting step may be utter futile. Moreover there are some recreational activities that people do after the office hours to get freshen up and this may gets halted as very little time will be left for them. People often have some obligations after the office hours and this step may be disliked by them as they won’t be able to fulfill those. If the results of these steps is opposite to what that has been thought they company may have to face employees turnover. And an Employee turnover may prove very deleterious to any organization.

The Productivity plays a very important role in the success of an organization.Working ten hours a day may diminish the productivity of the human resources of the organization and the company may not achieve the desired results that are expected so far.

Company x came up with an interesting plan but implementing such a plan in a rash may prove lethal for the company. In my opinion the company should reconsider the proposal and think of various other variables that are germane to this proposal, the policy makers should sit and have a bilateral communication with the employees in order to know what can increase their morale in real terms.