The following appeared as a letter to the editor from the owner of a skate shop in Central Plaza.

"Two years ago the city council voted to prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. They claimed that skateboard users were responsible for litter and vandalism that were keeping other visitors from coming to the plaza. In the past two years, however, there has been only a small increase in the number of visitors to Central Plaza, and litter and vandalism are still problematic. Skateboarding is permitted in Monroe Park, however, and there is no problem with litter or vandalism there. In order to restore Central Plaza to its former glory, then, we recommend that the city lift its prohibition on skateboarding in the plaza."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author here recommends that in order to restore the former glory of Central Plaza, the prohibition on skateboarding in Central Plaza levied by the city council be called off. The author also presents various reasons for such a recommendation. However the argument is logically flawed and there are several factors which need to be considered before taking such a strong stand.

First, the author states that only prohibition of Skateboarding lead to the loss of glory of Central Plaza. But no statistics and buttressing evidence has been provided regarding the condition of the Plaza before the ban was put up. There is no evidence showing how the people of the city respond to Skateboarding, though many might be interested in welcoming such an activity in the Plaza, some might also refrain from coming to the Plaza if such hustle bustle takes place in the Plaza.

Also, the author states that since the ban there has only been a small increase in the number of visitors to Central, but one would clearly need statistics to support and believe such a claim. The term small increase is very vague and needs to be elaborated. Also, the level of litter and vandalism before and after the prohibition need to be presented. Not only does an activity like Skateboarding contribute to the glory of a place, but also other factors such as the location of the place, the ambience inside and many other things.

The argument mentions that in Monroe Park, however the skating is permitted, there is no problem of litter and vandalism there. What the argument fails to put forth is the difference in maintenance forces and staff at the Monroe Park and in Central Plaza. It might be the case that Monroe Park does get littered but they have a better and more efficient cleaning staff which ensures regular cleaning of the Park. If certain evidence is provided regarding the number and efficacy of the staff and other conditions of the two places, the argument will be strengthened.

Thus, although lifting off the ban on Skateboarding at Central Plaza might be a good idea, the argument presented by the author is subject to scrutiny and needs to be bolstered with evidence. The argument can be strengthened if it considers the number of people interested in participating in Skateboarding now, it provides details for the difference in the amount of litter, if any before and after the ban has been imposed, and evidence to report if there has been no change. Other probable reasons for the litter problem need to be put forward. Also a cogent link should be established between the glory of Central Plaza and Skateboarding. The argument, as stated, seems too far-fetched to recommend that ban be lifted off without catering to the above mentioned questions and reasoning.