The following appeared as a letter to the editor from the owner of a skate shop in Central Plaza.

"Two years ago the city council voted to prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. They claimed that skateboard users were responsible for litter and vandalism that were keeping other visitors from coming to the plaza. In the past two years, however, there has been only a small increase in the number of visitors to Central Plaza, and litter and vandalism are still problematic. Skateboarding is permitted in Monroe Park, however, and there is no problem with litter or vandalism there. In order to restore Central Plaza to its former glory, then, we recommend that the city lift its prohibition on skateboarding in the plaza."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The owner of a skate shop in Central Plaza claims that in order to restore Central Plaza to its former glory, the city should lift the prohibition of using skateboards in the plaza since the ban has done little to improve the number of people coming to the plaza and solve the problems associated with litter and vandalism. To support his claim, he has erroneously made a few assumptions which undermine his cause. The author should clarify these assumptions with valid data to bolster his claim.

The author also states that in the two years since the prohibition, the number of people visiting the plaza has not increased significantly. However, there can be numerous reasons for the declining popularity of the plaza. For example, new shopping complexes with better facilities may have opened near the Plaza, the shops in the plaza can be overpriced, the food that the plaza serves can have inferior quality, the economic condition of residents surrounding Central Plaza may have deteriorated etc. which prevents people from going to the plaza. Without detailed proof, which negates all other causes for declining popularity of the plaza, it is not correct to conclude that lifting the ban on skateboarding will restore the plaza to its former glory.

The author has also stated that even after the prohibition of skateboarding the plaza still faces problems with litter and vandalism. Here the author has fallaciously assumed that since skateboarding has been prohibited in the Plaza, the skateboard users have also stopped coming there. Since the skateboard users may continue to frequent the Plaza, they are likely to continue to litter and vandalize it, thus making it still a persistent problem. At the same time there may be new sources that are littering and vandalizing the plaza. For example, food outlets in the Plaza may be responsible for the litter. Similarly, there is a possibility that area surrounding the Plaza have seen a drastic change in its population – increased unemployed and homeless people, who may be involved in vandalism. Concluding that litter and vandalism problem was not all or solely due to skateboarding would be wrong. Hence, it is fallacious to say that since litter and vandalizing problems are extant, skateboarding will not worsen the situation.

Finally, the author uses the example of Monroe Park, which permits skateboarding and does not have any problem with litter and vandalism, and extrapolates that since Monroe Park does not face problems neither will Central Plaza. It could simply be that Monroe Park has a better security system which results in no problems with littering and vandalism. Additionally, the skateboarders visiting Monroe Park could be better educated and law abiding people from affluent families. Therefore, without a proper comparison between the two places to establish their similarities it would be misleading to assume that reintroducing skateboarding in Central Plaza will have no adverse effect on the current situation of the plaza.

Under these conditions, it would be erroneous to conclude that banning skateboarding did not have the desired effect on the popularity and cleanliness of the plaza and lifting the ban will not have any antagonistic effects on the plaza but will increase its popularity.