The following appeared as a letter to the editor from the owner of a skate shop in Central Plaza.

"Two years ago the city council voted to prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. They claimed that skateboard users were responsible for litter and vandalism that were keeping other visitors from coming to the plaza. In the past two years, however, there has been only a small increase in the number of visitors to Central Plaza, and litter and vandalism are still problematic. Skateboarding is permitted in Monroe Park, however, and there is no problem with litter or vandalism there. In order to restore Central Plaza to its former glory, then, we recommend that the city lift its prohibition on skateboarding in the plaza."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author in his letter recommends to permit skateboarding in Central Plaza since banning it two years ago did not result in a significant increase in the visitors. He also mentions that city council put a ban on skateboarders on the premise that they were responsible for littering and vandalism. There are a number of questions that need to answered to fully evaluate the author’s argument and before his recommendation is implemented.

First information we need to figure out is whether there was a decrease in vandalism and uncleanliness right after skateboarding was prohibited in the Central plaza? Littering can be a nuisance to everyone including the shops owners as well as the visitors. If a decrease was noticed perhaps skateboarders indeed were responsible for dirtying the place which no doubt would have negatively impacted the customer base. Furthermore, in such a case unbanning would again deteriorate the plaza’s environment and turn customers off.

Second, we need to find out if any plazas or stores opened in the vicinity of Central plaza that could be attracting the plaza’s customers and resulting in low number of visitors to the plaza? The author mentions that after prohibiting the skateboarding in the plaza there was indeed an increase in shoppers which gives support to the claim that some visitors were indeed turned off by skateboarding.However, he mentions that the increase was small. The small increase could be because of extra competition that plaza may be facing from nearby plaza or mall being opened. Hence, it is important to find out whether it is the extra competition causing low increase or just the banning of skateboarding.

Third, we need to know if the plaza is equipped with dealing vandalism and increase in rubbish that may result from allowing skateboarding? The author assumes that since Monroe Plaza allows skateboarding and there is no litter or vandalism over there, therefore the same can apply to Central Plaza. Monroe Plaza can be contacted for further information about how they handle vandalism or uncleanliness that arises from skateboarding and the same methods can perhaps be implemented by Central Plaza.

In conclusion, a number of questions need to be answered ,to assess the viability of the author’s recommendation, such as did any new mall open in the vicinity, was there a reduction in uncleanliness and vandalism after banning skateboarding, and whether Central Plaza is equipped to handle if any such situation arises in case of allowing skateboarding?