A recent sales study indicates that consumption of seafood dishes in Bay City restaurants has increased by 30 percent during the past five years. Yet there are no currently operating city restaurants whose specialty is seafood. Moreover, the majority of families in Bay City are two-income families, and a nationwide study has shown that such families eat significantly fewer home-cooked meals than they did a decade ago but at the same time express more concern about healthful eating. Therefore, the new Captain Seafood restaurant that specializes in seafood should be quite popular and profitable.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be addressed in order to decide whether the conclusion and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to the questions would help to evaluate the conclusion.

The author recommends that a restaurant which specializes in seafood should be opened in the Bay City as it will be very popular and profitable. He supports his claim by mentioning that there has been an increase in consumption of seafood during the last 5 years, there are no restaurants around that specialize in seafood, and majority of the people dine out. The author’s claim seems to be based on incomplete information and is not persuasive enough and therefore additional information is required to fully evaluate his argument.

To bolster his case, the author presents figures from a case study. Before relying on the data provided some details about the case study should be looked into. For example, how much of the population of the city was included in the study, was the study carried out in specific demographics? The answers to these questions will help us understand whether the study result was skewed and how reliable the data is.

In one of the supporting arguments the author claims that people are expressing concern about healthy eating. He does not mention whether seafood itself is considered as a healthy food by people of Bay City? Also, another question that arises that whether people would prefer to eat seafood amongst all the other healthy options available?

The author also mentions that there has been 30% increase in seafood consumption in the last five years. Thirty percent increase sounds very impressive but we need to know the exact amount as the actual rise in consumption may be a very small number. Percentage alone does not give the idea of how much popular seafood dishes are.

The author assumes that the restaurant will be profitable without making any mention of running costs involved. A restaurant can only be profitable if its’ cost are lower than the income. We need to find out how much will be the cost of running such a restaurant which includes shop rental, cost of the seafood supply, staff salary among other things. We also need to know how much revenue is expected in terms of sales to evaluate whether the restaurant will be profitable as suggested.

Lastly, the author assumes that people in Bay City will be interested in a specialized seafood restaurant over other restaurants available. To test the validity of the argument, we need evidence whether people would prefer specialized seafood restaurant over others available. Perhaps a survey could be carried out to find this information.

In conclusion a lot of further data is need to fully assess the argument made by the author. This includes finding out the details of the case study, whether seafood is considered healthy choice by residents of Bay City, how much was actual increase in seafood consumption and whether the running costs will be lower than the expected sales.