The following appeared as part of an article in a Dillton newspaper.

"In an effort to bring new jobs to Dillton and stimulate the city's flagging economy, Dillton's city council voted last year to lower the city's corporate tax rate by 15 percent; at the same time, the city began offering generous relocation grants to any company that would move to Dillton. Since these changes went into effect, two new factories have opened in Dillton. Although the two factories employ more than 1,000 people, the unemployment rate in Dillton remains unchanged. The only clear explanation for this is that the new factories are staffed with out-of-town workers rather than Dillton residents."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author argues that after Dillton’s city council took a number of steps to encourage companies to move to Dillton city. These steps were able to attract two factories which employed more than a thousand people, but there has been no change in city’s unemployment rate despite the new jobs being created. Therefore, the factories must be employing people from out of town rather than the local people. The author seems to have made a valid point, but there may be other plausible explanations which can account for the facts presented.

One explanation could be that there was a closure of o...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.