The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The advertising director of Super Screen Movie Production Company, in a memo, recommends that to increase the number of viewers, the company should allocate a higher budget for advertising. He also claims that the quality of the movies is high as the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers has increased. There are a number of key questions that need to be answered before a proper conclusion can be drawn, otherwise the argument remains vulnerable to critique.

The author mentions that during the past year, fewer people attended the movies as compared to previous years. There could be a number of reasons for low attendance such as an increase in ticket price. We need to find out whether the prices of the tickets increased last year? The ticket price, for example, could have increased from $6 to $10 making it difficult for people to buy. A higher ticket price is likely to result in fewer people watching the movies in the cinema and therefore, we need to see if this were the case?

The author assumes that there is nothing wrong with the quality of movies as the percentage of positive reviews in the last year has increased. The author does not mention what were the total number of positive reviews before and now. It could be the case that the number of positive reviews only increased a small number as only a percentage is mentioned. For example, it could be that the positive reviews changed from 200 to 201 only. The author also does not mention how much was the percentage increase? Was it 1% or 0.00001%? Therefore, we need to know the relevant data to draw proper conclusions.

Furthermore, the author dismisses the claim that there could be anything wrong with the quality of the movies without proper convincing data. Perhaps, the company has changed its director or allocated a lower budget for CGI which resulted in poor quality as compared to before. Therefore, it is important to know whether any such changes were made during the past year?

In addition, another factor that needs to be considered is whether there was a change in genre of movies produced? Did the company switch, for example, from horror to comedy? A change in genre can disrupt the usual fanbase that watches the company’s movies and can result in lower customers. Therefore, it is extremely important to find out if any such change was made during the last year.

In conclusion, the author has based his argument on a number of assumptions and a lot of further information is needed before his recommendation is accepted and finally implemented. Such questions include the exact data of the positive reviews, change in ticket price, change in the director of movies, change in genre of movies produced among others.