"Two years ago the city council voted to prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. They claimed that skateboard users were responsible for litter and vandalism that were keeping other visitors from coming to the plaza. In the past two years, however, there has been only a small increase in the number of visitors to Central Plaza, and litter and vandalism are still problematic. Skateboarding is permitted in Monroe Park, however, and there is no problem with litter or vandalism there. In order to restore Central Plaza to its former glory, then, we recommend that the city lift its prohibition on skateboarding in the plaza."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author in his letter recommends to permit skateboarding in Central Plaza since banning it two years ago did not result in a significant increase in the visitors. He justifies his recommendation by citing evidence from Monroe park that skateboarding doesn’t lead to problems of littering and vandalism as suspected by the council. There are a number of questions that need to be answered to fully evaluate the author’s argument and recommendation is implemented.

First information we need to figure out is whether there was a decrease in vandalism and uncleanliness right after skateboarding was prohibited in the Central plaza? Littering can be a nuisance to everyone including the shops owners as well as the visitors. If a decrease was noticed perhaps skateboarders indeed were responsible for dirtying the place which no doubt would have negatively impacted the customer base. In such a case unbanning would again deteriorate the plaza’s environment and turn customers off.

Second, we need to find out if any plazas or stores opened in the vicinity of Central plaza that could be attracting the plaza’s customers and resulting in low number of visitors to the plaza? The author mentions that after prohibiting the skateboarding in the plaza there was indeed an increase in shoppers which gives support to the claim that some visitors were indeed turned off by skateboarding.However, he mentions that the increase was small. The small increase could be because of extra competition that plaza may be facing from nearby plaza or mall being opened. Hence, it is important to find out whether it is the extra competition causing low increase or just the banning of skateboarding.

It needs to be determined to what extent conditions in Monroe park and central plaza are similar. For example, whether the skateboarders visiting Monroe park belong to a different demographic. Alternatively, they may have more resources at their disposal to clean up after the skateboarders even if they are a source of littering and vandalism.

In conclusion, a number of questions need to be answered, to assess the viability of the author’s recommendation. These include whether any new mall opened in the vicinity, whether skateboarding leads to uncleanliness and vandalism and how similar is Central Plaza to Monroe plaza?