The following appeared in a letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University:

A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. Therefore, Seatown should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Seatown University conclusively states that it wants to enhance morale among its professors and lure new professors. It likely has many options to do so, but they are considering offering free tuition to their professors' college-aged children. Seatown believes that such an action will achieve its goals, especially given recent research. While further evidence is needed to prove this, any type of evidence can either strengthen or weaken the argument; it is entirely dependent on what the evidence states.

A close look at Oceania University's study is necessary. As of now, nothing is known about the study, except that it was conducted at this nearby university. Was there a large sample size? What were the colleges' demographics? Was it a school with adjunct faculty or tenured professors? Most importantly, was the school similar in type to Seatown? If the schools in the sample size are similar to Seatown, then Seatown is likely to see the positive outcomes of such an action. The argument would, therefore, be strengthened. On the other hand, if they are not similar, the argument would be weakened.

It is additionally necessary to have on-hand analogies of colleges that have witnessed the results Seatown wants. Qualitative data is always supportive. If Seatown knows of nearby colleges, or even across the country, that carried out the same methods to enhance morale among the faculty and lure new professors, then the evidence may or may not prove the likelihood of success. Colleges that implemented the actions but didn't see success would disprove the argument; colleges that that did see success would prove the argument. To repeat the thesis, it is entirely dependent on what the qualitative results indicate about morale enhancement and luring new professors.

Finally, it is important to know whether new professors care about free tuition for their children. It is not uncommon among professors to not have children and have no intention of having children. Therefore, this benefit would be immaterial to them. On the other hand, there are plenty of new professors, with young children, that would choose this school only because of the free tuition benefit. Once Seatown knows their professors' interests, they can make a better decision. Once again, this piece of evidence can either strengthen or weaken the argument. Knowing there are professors that care about the tuition benefit would strengthen the argument: It is clear it lures such a coterie. On the other hand, knowing there are mostly professors that do not care would weaken the argument because it is clear that it has no impact on their choice.

It is easy to evaluate the argument as being weakened by several pieces of information--or vice-versa--and a binary stance can, therefore, be taken. However, how each piece of evidence will affect the argument depends on what is said. That is what is most important for evaluating the argument, and that is what will assist Seatown in implementing their proposed actions.