The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town — Adams Realty and Fitch Realty — Adams Realty is clearly superior.

Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover,

Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000.

Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the

argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and

what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the above letter the homeowner concludes that the Adams reality realestate firm is more efficient than than Filtch realty real estate firm because it sell the homes in less period of time, adams have more staff than that of filtch Also the revenue was double than that of filtch. Howvever while the conclusion by the homeowner might not hold water as it rests on several unfounded assumptions that, if not substantiated, dramatically weakens the persuasive argument. Thus the following three assumptions must be answers.

First, Is the billables of the adams are greater as that of the filtch. It may be possible that filtch is a founded recently and has a few high billable permanent staff and other non permanent staff. As the number of non billable to the billable staff in the filtch is not provided it be difficult to estimate who brings more profit to the filtch firm. It may also be possible that the adams are able to afford only 40 real estate agents where as filtch can afford 25 realestate agents in each shift, which cconveniently says that filtich is a bigger firm than that of adams. If either of the scenario is true then the assertion that the billables of the adams are the greater than filtch is dramatically hampered.

Secondly, If the of adams wass revenue was twice high as that of te filtch then average should also me near to double the average amount of the filtch. As they have not provided the exact figures of there totals revenue it is difficult to say was the revenue actually double or not. It may be possible that the filtch was founded recently and therefore was not able to genereate a good revenue as that of adams, As they have ot provided the excat year when they bothe where founded it might hamper the assumption. If either of the above assumption holds water then the assumption that adams had twice the revenue of filtch is significantly hampared.

Furthermore, Are home sales more readily at adams reality than the filtch realty. It may be possible that adams realty take only those homes which are at prime locations. If such is the case then the above assumption is dramatically hampered. It mahy be possible that the adams realty sells the homes at prime location in a much less rate which attracts more buyers that that of filtch realty which gets there homes sold easily. The homeowner needs to provide the exact proof of at what rate the property was sold and the location where the homes are located. If either of the above scenario proves to be true then the assumption is significantly hampered.

In conclusion, While the homeowner suggets his friend that adams reality is better than that of filtch reality more data is needed before a firm conclusion is reached. If the homeowner answers the above assumption, it will be possible to fully evaluate the validity of the argument.