Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interviewcentered method.

In the above argument the author Dr. Karp says that the study of Dr. Field which conculded that the children where reared by entire village is false because according to his interview-centered expremient it proved contrary of what Dr. Field concluded. However the conclustion drawn by the anthripologist does not hold water,it rest on several unfounded assumptions if not substantiated might weaken the persusive argument. Thus following are three question which must be answered.

Fisrt, How are observation-centered approch and interview-centered approch different from each other? It may be possible that the two approches rely on same method but the inference is different. Because of which they reached a different conclusion. The author must specify what is the method, and how the approches are different from each other. It may be possible that the observation-centered approch consist the interview gathering of various testcases and observation is concluded upon them. The methodology of each of approch must be specified in detail. If any of the above scenario proves to be true the argumrnt is significantly hampered.

Second, Was the test cases count equal in both the approches? As mention by the author Dr. field only visited the island Tertia whereas Dr. Karp visited the group of island that included Tertia. It may be possible that Dr. Karp mistook the Tertia island for another and tested on some other island. It may be possible that Dr. Field conducted test on adults whereas Dr. Karp conducted tests on children. this changes the scope of the test. Perhaps author must specify the test cases and the inferences receached from each testcases. If any of the above scenario proves to be holds water the argument is weaken

Third, What are the other approches to reach the conclusion? As the two approches mention in the article are considered now the other anthropologist should approch the expremient with different approches other than the two mention in the artile.It may be possible that they reach a more conclusion end after considering other approches. If any of the above cases proves to be true then the argumnt is significatly hampered.