The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town — Adams Realty and Fitch Realty — Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of the letter asserts a couple of conclusions that look persuasive at the first glance. However, when we delve deeper into the details, we can find some assumptions by author without presenting cogent evident. To make it more persuasive, the author should provide some additional information and may take some surveys. I will explain fallacious issue and propose some solutions to make it more cogent.

To begin, the author did not clarify the scope of each realities. It is possible that each of them work on different area of the city that have different conditions ranging from prices, facilities, social conditions and etc. Thus, all of them could change the conclusion of the author. Even if both realities work on the same area, it is possible that each of the are specialized on different kind of homes likes, apartments, studios, villa, house, or etc. Therefore, the author should provide additional information about the scope of each reality to remove any other possibilities.

Moreover, even if the scope of the both realities are the same, although comparing the abilities of the realities by their agents may look logic at initial view, it may face some holes and assumptions. It means, the author assumes all of agents have the same abilities and the number of agents could be a sign of a successful reality. While the perfomance of persons in different jobs are various and agents are not exception. Thus, it is possible that an state agency uses much less agents with well-experince and achieve excellent results. Thus, the writer of the letter should provide more information about agents of each realities such as experience, education and like that. By providing mentioned information, the reader could remove any additional possibilities from the statement.

Finally, the author compare the time of selling two different homes in different periods as a critera to judge the performance of the realities. He assumes both homes had same conditions, the economic situation was not change during 10 years but he did not mention any evidence ti prove that. As an counterexample, it is possible that one of the home was outside the city or the position of the home could be a reason for taking long time for selling the home. To solve this hole, the author should explain the condition of both homes and also he should provide additional information about economic situations in the time of selling each of them.

In conclusion, although the reasons that author provided to prove the Adam Reality is better than Fitch Reality look cogent at first glance, the letter lies on some assumptions and holes.