In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating, and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is, therefore, sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and / or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The writer of the argument alleges that the government should assign some budget for riverside recreational facilities because citizens are enthusiastic to use these recreational activities. Although the evidence that the author provides looks reasonable at first glance, when we delve deeper into the assumptions, there are rife of flaws and fallacious.

The first assumption of the argument is that citizens like water sports but the author does not present any evidence that supports his idea. If there is any survey that shows these results, the author should present them with statistical numbers. Even if there is a survey for this purpose it should be according to scientific methods and it should consider all the age range and different district in the city. For example, maybe it just asks from a wealthy district people that misconstrue the results. Moreover, maybe people just like to see these sports from the TV not doing that or they prefer to do these activities when they are on holiday not in their city.

Another assumption of the author is that the facilities of water sport are old and need maintenance so if they repair people would use them. The question is why these facilities remain old and did not change or repair until now and why the income of these facilities did not use for repairing. Maybe people did not use them very much and lead to a recession in that park. Therefore, this trend may happen in the future even the government would assign enough money for rebuilding them.

Finally, The author assumes that water quality is the main reason and obstacle for water sports and if the water would be clean water sports would attract people. Since the city council plans to clean the river all of the obstacles would be cleared. Even if the river would be cleaned by the city council, as the main reason for the dirtiness of the river is not clear it may become dirty again. For example, the main reason for the river dirtiness may be the sewage water of factories and buildings, so the river would be dirty again if the city council will not clear the main reason.

In conclusion, although providing water sports could attract people and better quality of the river would be more healthy for the citizens, nevertheless, the author fails to offer cogent reasons to persuade the reader for this purpose.