The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town — Adams Realty and Fitch Realty — Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

This homeowner argues that Adams Realty is a better realty because they hire more agents, sell at higher average price, and based on his own experience, sell listed properties faster. I argue that his supporting reasons and underlining assumptions are problematic.

To begin, the homeowner uses the number of full-time agents as an indicator for a realty’s superiority. That is just weak. Firms of all sizes can provide excellent services. Some firms choose not to stay small, for the many benefits a small firm brings to its owners and employees, such as a warm culture, the retaining of equity, the lack of bureaucracy etc. Some firms expand not because they have more clients to handle than what their current employees could handle, but because of the pressure given by external capital investors, or self-ego of the owners, etc. It could be a variety of reasons that have nothing to do with how well they do businesses. Therefore the number of full-time agents cannot be an indicator for superiority.

Next, he uses revenue and average sale price as support for Adams’ superiority, which lack important considerations. The number of agents Fitch has is about 60% of that of Adams, and many are part time. Yet Fitch brings in 50% revenue as that of Adams. Say, if Fitch has more than 10 agents work half-time or less, then it has a higher revenue per full-time agent than Adams. Revenue per full-time agent, although still imperfect, is a better metric for evaluating a firm. In addition, the average sale prices only imply different types of houses each firm is better at selling. It is not mentioned what type of house this friend plans to list. He should certainly choose a realty that is good at selling the type of properties most similar to his own, instead of choosing the one with higher average selling price.

Finally, the author quotes his own experience with the two realties, which are nine years apart. The author assumes that the market did not change throughout the nine years, and concluded that Fitch is worse than Adams based on that comparison and assumption. It is unfair to compare his experience with Fitch ten years ago with his experience with Adams last year. The market could be warmer last year. Both realties could grow and improve quite a bit from ten years ago. Therefore his argument does not hold water.

Based on the above analysis, the author would need to consider more aspects and data to draw conclusions about which realty is better. His current argument in support of Adams is weak and should not be taken by his friend.