Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

A leader both leads and serves. It is understandable that some people believe that in order to be effective, leaders need to yield to public opinions, to the degree of compromising their own principles. However, I strongly believe that a truly great leader is one that consistently adheres to certain principles and committed to particular objectives, for three reasons.

First, a leader is the one that provides the vision, the one that galvanizes followers towards that vision. People expect the leader to set the goal, paint the vision, and show them the way to realize it. With the goal-setting and vision-painting it is natural and necessary to bring his or her own principles and beliefs - natural because genuine visions are rooted emotionally in one's soul, and necessary because commitment comes from alignment with one's deepest beliefs. Thus it is both expected and preferred for a leader to adhere to certain principles and beliefs.

Secondly, leaders that are committed to certain principles are more likely to be trusted by his people. Their actions are stemmed from a consistent set of credos and hence predictable. People tend to trust the predictable. When these leaders are put through trying experience, people know that they would not fail morally and they will not.

Last, but not least, public opinions may not be so "democratic" as it sounds. The so-called "public opinions" are often the voice of the loudest, or the wealthiest, the ones with the resources to lobby or vocalize their stand. The opinions of the marginal, the minority, the disadvantaged are often lost in the sea of "public opinions." It is only with a deep commitment to certain principles that one can truly discern among the public opinions, hear the un-heard, see the unseen. A truly great leader should do no less than that.

With all the above, I'd like to add that it is not contradictory to be both adherent to certain principles and open to hear other opinions. It is after all opinions are heard, a leader should still make the decisions based on his own principles that he had committed to.