The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The statement in the article suggests that in order for a business to prosper, it should only hire people that need less that 6 hours of sleep every day, based on the research finding of a correlation between the degree of success and the time its executives need for sleep among 300 advertising executives. I mostly disagree with this conclusion for the following reasons.

First, executives that need less sleep apparently have more time available to work. If they devote all their waking hours to work, they do have more time to think about business issues, work on projects, be more responsive to clients etc. With more time put in, there may be more fruitfulness, higher production, and faster turnaround. Therefore it is possible that executive that demands less sleep is more productive.

However, that is NOT the whole story. From the survey, there is no conclusive causality between the number of hours needed for sleep and the success of the company. In the survey, the number of hours available to work is only one of the factors that CORRELATES with the profit margins and growths of the businesses. Correlation does not mean causality, as the author incorrectly assumes. The effectiveness of the executives surveyed could be caused by a range of factors, such as age, level of education, degree of experience, certain credentials etc., which then correlates with the number of hours they need for sleep. For example, it may be that all graduates from design schools sleep less because they are trained to stay up to work on their demanding design products during schools, but it is training in design schools that account for the effectiveness of the advertising executives, rather than the number of hours for sleep they need. You should hire people with a design school degree, instead of looking into their sleep patterns.

Last, but not least, the author assumes that the example of advertising business could be generalized to any business. It is possible that in other businesses, the more hours you put in, not necessarily the more results you will get. There are many such businesses. For example, some businesses rely on relationships to certain people or organizations to grow. Some businesses rely on inspired creativity, which is not easily generated from more working. If any of the above is true, the author's conclusion falls apart.

In summary, although there is a loose connection between an executive’s need for sleep time and the company’s success in the advertising industry, the author cannot draw a causal conclusion and let alone generalize it to any business. The author needs more data that can explain the cause of the success of the business, broken down by the types of businesses, before drawing a conclusion about what type of people the business should hire.