To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It might be difficulty to determine how to study a society, as there are so many intertwined parts. The prompt suggests that in order to learn the major characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities, which I strongly disagree for three reasons.

First, whether major cities are accurate representatives of the society depends on the degree of urbanization. If a society is urbanized, then most of its people live in the cities, in which case studying the cities may be a good way to understand the society. However, if a society is not urbanized, that is, most of its people live outside of the cities, then studying the cities reveals only a small and biased piece of the society. For example, China in the 50s and 60s was not urbanized. There were major cities like Beijing and Shanghai, but 70% of its people live in villages. It is hard to argue that studying Beijing and Shanghai, probably representing less than 5% of the population, reveals the whole picture.

Secondly, sometimes the most important characteristics of a society lie in the inter-relationships between and dynamics of its people groups. Major cities may be populated with only one such group and therefore keep the inter-relationships unseen. Like in today’s China, most people do live in cities. However, they live in different tiers of cities. There are super-sized cities, which you probably count as “major cities”, like Beijing, Shanghai, Guangzhou and Shenzhen. And there are numerous other cities ranging from large to small in size. A major characteristic of today’s Chinese society is the inter-relationships and movability (or the lack of it) between different classes of people. In major cities, you are looking at the 5% population that is well-off, the wealthy and the middle to upper classes. The rest of the society, 95% of the population, include those living in lower-tier cities and those living in villages. It is hard to argue which group characterizes a society, especially given the large number of people in the latter group.

Last, that said, today in societies around the globe, we do see a general trend of urbanization, after which cities capture more characteristics of a society. Many people migrate to major cities from lower-tier cities or countryside, which increases the complexity of major cities, which in turn makes studying them more revealing. One may be able to discover some major characteristics of a society by studying the major cities.

In summary, I think in most cases major cities are not accurate representatives of the society as a whole, therefore the suggestion by the prompt does not stand. Although studying major cities could be revealing, one should first consider a society’s degree of urbanization, how representative are the people living in major cities to the people of the society etc.