The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In his memo, the direcotr of student housing at Buckingham College cited growing enrollment, rising off-campus aparment rent and increasing attractiveness to applicants to support his proposal of building a few new dormitories. However, before his argument could be properly evaluated, we need to first examine the unstated assumptions that support his argument.

First, the director assumes that the college’s enrollemnt is growing beyond its housing capacity. It is unclear how well utilized the current dormitory buildings are. The enrollment is growing, but it’s not growing at a high rate. Doubling in 50 years implies a ~1.5% annual growth rate. If the current dormitories are only 70% utilized, or less, then the college is fine without building any new dorms for another 20 years. If this is true, then his reasoning for building new dorms will be significantly weakened.

Secondly, the director assumes growing student body equals growing demand for dorm housing. It is unknown what housing options the students enrolled at Buckingham College have. If the students have many housing options, then more enrollment does not necessarily mean requirement of more on-campus housing demand. The memo mentioned the availability of off-campus apartment, but I doubt that is the only alternative the students have to dormitory housing. Do a significant part of the students live with their parents within driving distances? Is the on-campus housing cost compared unfavorably with the off-campus housing cost? If the answer to either of these questions is yes, then the director’s argument does not hold water.

Finally, the director argues that the new dormitories will make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham. A strategy relying on attractive new dorm buildings to attract prospective students is likely to result in students that care about the dorm buildings more than the academic environment. We need more data about why current students choose Buckingham to properly evaluate this argument. If Buckingham sets itself apart in one or more academic areas and therefore attracts strong applicants, then whether or not adding new dorm buildings really do not matter to those self-selected and internally-driven students. In fact, it may harm the quality of the future incoming students.

In summary, before we could properly evaluate the proposal to build new dormitories for Buckingham College, we would need to know more about how Buckingham currently stands out, the current dormitory utilization rate, and students housing options and their relative costs. With those data at hand, it might be possible to draw some conclusions about whether or not, and if yes, when and how many dormitories should be built at Buckingham College.