The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex to its manager.

"One month ago, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. I predict that modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will increase our profits even more dramatically."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

In this letter to the manager, the owner of Sunnyside Towers concludes that that modifying showerheads to restrict water flow in all of the twelve buildings will dramatically increase the profits. However before we evaluate the prediction, Below three questions below need to be answered.

First of all, How effective is it modify showerheads? In other words the owner of the Sunnyside Towers has assumed that most amount of water usage is through the shower and thereby modifying the shower heads to reduce the water pressure. It may be possible that a very tiny fraction of residents living in Sunnyside Towers use shower frequently, if at all. It is also might be that the water usage is primarily from other activities like dishwashing, laundry, watering etc. Even if the shower is major water usage, residents may take a longer time in the shower due to the low pressure, therefore, negating any benefit owner might enjoy.

Secondly, Will, the residents agree to the modification? Residents of Sunnyside Towers may not agree to this change at all in the first place as the owner has already received multiple complaints about the low pressured showerheads. It is also possible that residents can find out other alternatives to this modification. Maybe they can call in a local plumber to fix it as per their desired pressure, in turn increasing the pressure of the water higher than before. Thereby not only does the owner not get the desired results but also will lead to higher usage of water and also will lead to unwanted expenses of new low pressure showerheads and also the expenses of plumber thereby reducing the profits altogether.

Last of all, Are the complaints of residents have been looked into thoroughly? According to the owner, Residents of first three buildings have reported complaints after the change of showerheads. It is possible that residents are seriously facing issues and want these to be addressed. Moreover, residents can get frustrated upon lack of interest shown by the owner to address the grievances. This may cause effects in the long run. Residents may file complaints on the owner and thereby damaging the Sunnyside corporation name which may detract new potential residents. Moreover, current residents who are living on a temporary basis may also find a new home somewhere else. This will cause a long term effect and reduce the income.

The conclusion given by the owner of Sunnyside Towers that modifying the showerheads to reduce the pressure will increase the current profits dramatically may be true. But as it stands the above three questions of the effectiveness of modification, Residents approval and complaints addressal needs to be answered in-depth to further evaluate the prediction.