memo from the director of a large group of hospitals.

"In a laboratory study of liquid antibacterial hand soaps, a concentrated solution of UltraClean produced a 40 percent greater reduction in the bacteria population than did the liquid hand soaps currently used in our hospitals. During a subsequent test of UltraClean at our hospital in Workby, that hospital reported significantly fewer cases of patient infection than did any of the other hospitals in our group. Therefore, to prevent serious patient infections, we should supply UltraClean at all hand-washing stations throughout our hospital system."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the memo, the Director of a large group of hospital concludes that UltraClean should be supplied at all hand-washing stations in the hospital system to prevent serious patient infections. However, while the conclusion drawn by the director might hold water, this argument is based upon several unstated assumptions, which if proven false, will completely lead to the argument falling apart. The following three assumptions need to be explained

First of all, We need to check the role played by UltraClean at the hospital in Workby, resulting in fewer cases of infection. Director is on an unstated assumption that the lower cases of infection are a direct result of UltraClean liquid handsoap. It may be possible that the hospital at Workby is strict on the cleanliness of the hospital thereby resulting in fewer cases. It is also possible that the hospital in Workby only treats a particular set of patients relating to neurology, where the infectious disease is only very rare in the first place. If either of the above scenarios turns out true, there can be a high impact on the validity of the argument

Secondly, We need to check the validity of the study which states that concentrated solution of Ultraclean results in a forty percent reduction in bacteria population. We do not have enough evidence about the study like the conditions in which testing has been conducted and results have been observed. It is possible that during the study, the conditions affecting the outcome are more favourable to the UltraClean thereby giving a better result than what we actually achieve. Another assumption in the study is the vague usage of “40 percent” reduction in population is unclear and doesn’t provide any explanation of what all type of bacteria it can reduce. Maybe UltraClean is in fact, better at reducing one type of bacteria than the current one but the current handwash helps in killing of wider variety of germs and bacteria as compared to the UltraClean.

Last of all, are people actually using the hand soap provided at the handwashing stations. Director assumes that people who come to the hospital do diligently use the handwash and are careful about the cleanliness. Patients who come to hospital may come for a brief period of time do not use the handwash as frequently as the director assumes patients would. It also might be that people who use the washing stations, do not generally use the hand soap provided. If either of the two example holds true, it would hinder the director’s argument thereby making the argument difficult to be persuasive.

The conclusion drawn from the director that usage of ultraclean handwash in the hospitals will result in decrease in serious patient infections might be true. However, as it stands, the argument is based on several unwarranted assumptions like role of Ultraclean at hospital in Workby, validity of the study and usage of handwash. These assumptions need further explanation to make the argument by the director more persuasive.