The following appeared in a letter sent by a committee of homeowners from the Deerhaven Acres to all homeowners in Deerhaven Acres.

"Seven years ago, homeowners in the nearby Brookville community adopted a set of restrictions on how the community's yards should be landscaped and what colors the exteriors of homes should be painted. Since then, average property values have tripled in Brookville. In order to raise property values in Deerhaven Acres, we should adopt our own set of restrictions on landscaping and house painting."

The argument seems to be well presented and sound at first glance : because the property values of the nearby Brookville Community have increased 3 fold in the last 7 years due to landscaping and colour matching. However as more light is shed on the issue and more detailed facts are concerned the argument suffers from grave fallacies and unwarranted assumption. Before this letter can be implemented the following arguments must be taken into consideration.

Firstly , the homeowners of Brookville had adopted these restriction seven years ago. This means that in the past seven years there could have been a dramatic change in populace.Maybe the young and highly paid millennials could now prefer customised landscaping and their preferred colours over the uniform colour and landscaping pattern. Maybe the old and pensioned segment of population are unable to maintain the landscaping and are preferring to move out. If the above arguments are true then the measure could do more harm than good.

Secondly, We cannot compare Brookville with Deerhaven Acres. Maybe Brookville is in an urban setting where there is faster appreciation on property values and Deerhaven Acres could be in a rural setting with slower appreciation. It could also be the case that Brookville has better road connectivity and is having better infrastructure then Deerhaven Acres. This could be the reason for the increase in property values. If the above arguments are true then the argument does not hold ground.

Thirdly, It could be that the last seven years could be a part of the upward economic cycle and now the economy is looking for a bad rescission activity. Maybe people are looking a housing bubble burst like 2008 crisis.This means that the people will not be interested in buying houses and neither will the value of property increase since there is no buyer. If the argument hold good then the efforts of Deerhaven heights can be ruined.

Lastly, Brookville could have larger and grander houses that are more appealing to the rich and wealthy whereas Deerhaven acres can have a smaller houses which tend to have a slower rate of appreciation in property value compared to richer areas.

Overall, the letter is far from forceful enough to persuade the residents of Deerhaven Acres to implement landscaping and uniform colour pattern. Before any final decisions are made to implement the recommendations much work is left for the arguer to do to make his/her argument more logical and cogent.