The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

A great man once said , “The worth of an individual is how valuable his contribution has been to the future”. The prompt says that the greatness of an individual is not decided by his contemporaries but by the next generations. I agree with the prompt and would reason my thoughts with the following reasons.

When the greatness of a person is decided by his contemporaries the sense of future is not taken into account. Adolf Hitler, Chancellor of Nazi Germany was very sucessfull in implimenting a great economic comeback for Germany and was then declared great however his genocide against the Jewish community and his lack of humanity is what define’s him and he is one of the most hated individual. Similarly in 1942 before the battle of Stalingrad, Hitler was regarded as the greatest warlord in history , yet 3 years later he was utterly defeated and had to commit sucide in his bunker. This shows that the greatness of a individual cannot be fully known until all of the individuals success and failures are compared.

Sometimes the worth of the efforts of an individual are not recognised by his contemporaries but later regarded as a breakthrough in their field. One such person was the great astronomer Galelio. Galileo declared that the sun was the center of the universe opposing the church’s view. For this treason of questioning the Holy church he was punished. Today Galaleo is a revered figure in the scientific community and is considered the father of Modern Science.

The idea of greatness changes as we move towards a progressive society. People are often better understood in better light as generations pass. Malcolm X and Martin Luther King Jr are now revered figures of today's generation but were not as much popular in the past. As more individuals get the benefits of education the way society perceives the greatness of an individual changes.

Some may believe that some issues of an individual's life may be forgotten as time passes on. This is not much of an issue since these have little to no influence on our opinion. This is because of the fact that we usually tend to forget unimportant issues that carry little weight. Hence it can be concluded that the best judges of an individual's greatness are not his contemporaries but the future generations.