The following appeared in a memo to the board of directors of a company that specializes in the delivery of heating oil."Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as

In the above argument the author concludes that he recommends investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is retail sale of home heating oil. His conclusion is based on a prediction that the demand for home heating oil will increase, which is further based upon many premises which the author has made to bolster his claim.

The author exclaims that most homes in north-eastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as a major fuel for heating. This is actually a background information which further requires much more data to explain that exactly how many homes and how many parts of these region where winters are typically cold are domicile, so that it can be identified that how much demand is there for heating oil.

Furthermore, he claims that the region experienced 90 days with below normal temperatures, climate forecasters predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. It is generally known that the prediction of the weather forecasters is not strong and might change. Many times, the prediction of weather remains untrue, and the forecasters should be genuine enough or the source from where they are getting the information should me mentioned. May be due to global warming, the temperature might change or may be due to inauguration of industries and increase in population, the weather might get hotter. So, these assumptions provided by the author remains unwarranted and further more evidence and data are required, that how the heating oil demand will increase.

The author goes on telling that many new homes are being built in the region in response to recent population growth. An assumption is made here that due to increase in homes, the demand for heating oil will also increase. It can be that the new homes that are built will no longer need oils for heating purpose, might be there will be a new technique for heating such as air conditioners, etc. And even due to increase in population the environment of the region might get hotter in a few years, and thus the demand for oil might get stopped. To bolster the author’s claim, he needs to provide more information regarding the homes that are built and the statistics of the population growth recently and in future.

Therefore, the evidences which the author provided to bolster his claim remains vague as it is based on many assumptions, such as climate forecasters prediction, increased in population growth and building of new houses, which are proving unwarranted. And also regarding the investment in consolidated industries the author should provide more information as it is assumed that the investment in those industries could make a profit. To bolster his claim the author should provide more information as stated in the above paragraphs.