The following is a memorandum from the business manager of WLSS television station."Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the s

In the given argument the author, who is the business manager of a television station, concludes that, in order to attract more viewers to their late night program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, the station should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level. Here the author states a causal relationship between the decreasing time of weather and local news, and the mishaps which happened due to this, such as complains from viewers and sponsors cancelling their contracts. The argument is based upon some vague assumptions which needs further information to bolster it.

Firstly, the author states that the television station has increased time to national news and decreased time to weather and local news, in their late night news program. Here much more information is needed that how much time is decreased in the weather and local news and how much time is increased in the national news. It can be that not much time is decreased to the local and weather news, or it can be that previously the national news program was very less and that increased by one minute and the other is just decreased by one minute. Proper data of their news channels program's former and recent time is requires for proof.

The author goes on stating that due to the decrease in time to the local and weather news, they are getting complaints from the viewers concerning about the station's coverage of weather and local news. Much more information is required here for proof, as the author assumes that the complains that were received from the viewers were regarding the decreased time. It can be that the viewers were complaining about the weather and local news data, they wanted proper data to screen. It can also be that only one viewer has raised all the complaints, therefore a proper statistics from the viewers is required and the information regarding the complaints are required, to get a proper evidence.

Lastly, the author states that due to their decreased time in weather and local news, the local businesses that used to advertise during the station's late night news program, have cancelled their contracts, which he believes is a causal to the former. It can be that the contracts have expired at this time and so they had to cancel their contract. Proper data in required regarding the contracts for support the argument, otherwise it is based on some false assumptions as of now.

Therefore, to strengthen the argument the author needs to provide certain details which he has assumed in the argument. If all the information regarding the time duration of the programs, the detailed review about the viewers complaints, and the time span of the contracts of local businesses and the reason for them to cancel their contracts, are received which can bolster the assumptions made by the author, then it can strengthen the argument. Otherwise, as of now the argument is based in some vague assumptions and does not stand strong.