The following appeared in a memo from the new vice president of Sartorian, a company that manufactures men's clothing."Five years ago, at a time when we had difficulty obtaining reliable supplies of high-quality wool fabric, we dis

In the given argument the author, new vice president of Sartorian, claims that their company’s profit will increase if they again start selling the alpaca overcoat which they used to sell 5 years ago. To support the claim, the author made many evidences, and on meticulously going through the evidences, it is found that the authors claim is vague and does not stand strong. More specific information and data are required to strengthen the argument, otherwise based on the given assumptions the argument stands weak.

Firstly, the author states that 5 years ago the production of alpaca overcoat was discontinued by the company as reliable high quality wool fabric supplies were difficult to obtain. Then he goes on stating that now they have a new fabric supplier and thus then should resume the production. More data is required here to bolster the evidence provided. He tells that there was a time when the company faced difficulties to obtain supplies, and at that time the production was discontinued. He does not mention that the production was discontinued directly because of getting supplies, there could be many more reasons like people were not liking the product, etc. More statistics is required regarding the discontinuation of the product so that we can get the actual idea. Then he goes on telling that they have a new supplier of fabric now. Here more proper data regarding the supplier is needed that whether the supplier is providing high quality fabric or not and also for how long will they get the supplies of wool.

Then he mentions that this coat should sell very well since it is not offered to the customers for five years and also their major competitor no longer makes an alpaca coat. It can be that their major competitor no longer makes the product, but many new companies could have come up who sells the product which can be a competitor to them. So much more information of the current market is required regarding the selling of these coats. It can also be that people stopped liking the product as in these five years more new better products have come to the market which are good quality, long lasting and cheap. So, a proper statistic of the customers and related products are required here so that the author can bolster his argument.

The author mentions that the price of clothing has increased in last five years. A much more information is required here, whether the price of men’s clothing has increased or not as the company deals with only men’s clothing. Or if the price has increased for men, there is a question that whether the customers are still interested in buying the alpaca clothes. A complete survey is required from the place where this company resembles. And if they are interested, whether they will pay an increased price for that particular stuff or not.

Therefore, if all such information and statistics which are mentioned in the above paragraph, regarding the supplier, competitors, market, and the customers, are properly discussed, the author’s argument can get strengthen. Without providing such details, the author’s argument is based on vague assumptions and does not stand true and is weak in many cases.