The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The director of student housing at Buckingham college concludes that attractive new dormitories would encourage the enrollment of students in future. To support his recommendation, the director provides evidences like growing students enrollment, increasing average rent. However, there are three flaws that director should take into consideration and provide sufficient evidence to substantiate his argument.

First of all, the author assumes that the enrollment is growing and based on current trends will double over next 50 years. It is also possible that the growing enrollement has been for only three years. It is also possible that the enrollment may drastically reduce in the years afterwards. The author should provide further evidences like exact trend of the past 20 years and the basis for argument that the trend will continue in further years. He should also provide appropriate adequate reasoning why will the prospective students enroll in higher numbers in Buckingham College.

Secondly, The author assumes that the dormitory space will be inadequate if the current trends of students enrollment continues. It is possible that students don't prefer to live on-campus and stay off-campus for multiple reasons like part-time jobs, cheaper rent, cheaper fooding etc. Perhaps the dormitory is space is already large enough that it can accomodate all the students enrolled even if the current trend of students enrollment continues. The author fails to provide the exact statistics, so, it is also possible that dorimitory space will not be a major problem. The author should, thus, provide further evidences like currenly enrolled students in the college, students living off-campus, average rent prices and other cost comparision on-campus and off-campus.

Thirdly, the author assumes that the average rent for an apartment in the town has risen in recent years so students will find difficult o afford off-campus housing. It is possible that the although rent has risen the space of new apartments has increased and can accomodate higher number of students than previously cheaper apartments. Students can stay off-campus in apartments by sharing their rent costs. It is also possible that GDP has risen in recent years and the rise in average rent of apartment is not a big deal. It is also likely that students get highly paid part-time jobs readily and can easily afford increased average rent.

In conclusion, the argument is not as persuasive as it sounds. The author should provide further statistical evidences to bolster his argument. His failure to substantiate evidence will dramatically diminish the persuasiveness of the argument.