Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

In recent decades, the number of scandals have greately increased. It is probably a result of media growing active every day and access of internet to people all around globe, making world a small village. The prompt suggests that scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in multiple way that a speaker or a reformer could ever do. I mostly disagree with this recommendation, however, i do concede that there are some cases in ehich scandals can prove to be beneficial.

First of all, with the rise of media ,especially in south asian countries, every small issues are exxagerated distorting the issues in multiple ways. For instance, Amid covid-19 pandemic, a small land dispute between Nepal and India was exaggerated to a extent that it seemed like a war was about to happen. A small issue that could be solved by a small discussion among the representatives was exaggerated and turned into scandal. This led to protest in both the countries, amid covid-19 crisis, which led to increase in the infected people. So, the exaggeration of small issues to scandals can deviate out focus on certain problems rather than increasing attention to the problems.

Secondly, Scandals instead of getting our focus on certain problems can lead to rise in the multiple problems. For instance, a recent political scandal in India between two political parties divided whole country into two halves. The rate of crimes was at the peak during that period. This scandal proved to be one of the doleful nightmares in the history of indian politics.

Thirdly, scandals are sometimes trigger for a solution to a problem. For instance, In a military school in surkhet, Nepal, there was a collision among student groups and teachers. The issue was about freedom for students. The students got together to solve their problems against the teachers and there was some fight like scenario. This scandal encouraged a different practice between teacher and students. There was a cordial relationship among studens and teachers. So, in some instances there are chances that a scandal can be useful and focus attention on some problems that no other individual could do.

In sum, based on the examples presented above the disadvantages offered by scandals outweighs the perks. Hence, i mostly disagree with the authors recommendation that scandals are beneficial to focus our attention on problems rather they create further obstruction.