The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station.

"To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area , but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station concludes that changing the current rock-music format to news and talk format will reverse the decline in the number of listeners of WWAC radio station. To support his conclusion the author provides evidences like growing population as a result of inflow of retired people, decline of local sales of recorded music etc. The author's conclusion is potentially valid, however, he should provide three addition evidences to assess his argument and bolster the persuasiveness of the argument.

First of all, the author assumes that owners decision is the final decision and no other questions can be raised to qualify or dismiss the decision. It is possible that there are other shareholders who have major roles in making or approving such decisions and if the shareholders do not agree then the decision cannot be implemented. It is also possible that the radio station has a unique policy that it cannot change its format for certain years and the current phase is yet to be over. If these are the case then argument does not hold water. The author should providence like the role of shareholders and other policy of radio station to buttress his argument.

Secondly, the author assumes that the major reason of population growth in the area is due to the people moving there after his retirement. He fails to provide the exact statistics of what major comprises. It is possible that 10 people had migrated and 6 of them are retired. If this is the case then the number is not significant and it is likely that significant differences will not be observed. The author should provide the exact statistics of the total population in the area, the number of people migrated, and the number of retired individuals among migrated people. The author should also provide evidence if there are some music enthusiasts in the migrated people. If some music enthusiasts are present, it is possible that they urge other people to listen to music and follow music.

Thirdly, the author erroneously assumes that news and talk format will increase the number of listeners, as that form is increasingly popular in the area. The author fails to encompass the migrated people in this assumption. It is possible that the people who have migrated are significant in population and they do not prefer news and talk format. So, using this format can not be a solution as mentioned by the author. To validate his point the author should provide evidence that the migrated people like news and talk format and the number of people migrated are significant in number.

In conclusion, the authors argument is seriously flawed that, if not substantiated by evidences as mentioned above, dramatically reduces the persuasiveness of the argument. So, to make his conclusion valid and his argument sound the author should provide the exact statistics and the scientific relationship between the activities that are taking place.