Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Formal education are building blocks for every individual to understand in a logical way as it develops a eclectic understanding and critical reasoning. The prompt asserts that formal education qualifies our minds and spirits rather than independent thinking and understanding. I mostly disagree with the authors assertion , however, i do concede that formal education to some extent restricts our minds and spirits.

First of all, formal education builds a foundation for every child to perceive the world in a rational way. He/she can reasonably and logically deduce or infer the basic simple activities which ultimately are units of some complex activities. For instance, a formally educated man can understand the laws of nature and has a basic understanding of science which enables him to logically derive any particular thing he desires. Whereas, a individual have not received formal education may not be open in every cases.

Secondly, formal education , apart from setting individuals minds and spirits free, has certain realm which precludes the individuals to think irrationally. However, a individual who is not formally educated is not well aware about the limits and restrictions. So, he/she can have a completely peculiar thought process and can perceive a phenomenon in a different basis than a formally educated individual. For instance, a farmer who is not formally educated can have a different approach to cultivation of crops than a crop scientist. A educated crop scientist bases his knowledge and restricts himself in the realms set by the formal education gained. But, a farmer seasoned by experience can deduce a alternative based on past experiences and can sometimes develop a scientifically superior technique.

Thirdly, formal education limits a individual by several rules developed in due course of time. The laws of nature and science derived throughout history precludes a individual to contradict it completely leading the individual to a already set path and leaving a small loopholes which are too difficult to locate out. These principles and laws does not let a formally educated individual to deviate and think on a different perspective. For instance, a physicist can not base his experiments against the laws of gravity or quantum physics, which are building blocks of modern physics. So, these type of several instances can be located on which formal education restricts a individual reasoning on limited themes.

In conclusion, summing up the instances presented above and the way formal education creates and paves a path for setting our minds and spirits free, i mostly disagree with the authors assertion that formal education has a innate tendency to restrain our minds and spirits.