The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author concludes that a business can flourish if it hires workers who require less than six hours of sleep. To buttress his/her argument, the author presents a study of advertising firms showing that firms whos executives reported lesser sleeping hours than 6 hours per night were having higher profit margins and faster growth. The author is potentially correct, but he should provide three pieces of information to assess the validity of the argument.

First of all, the author assumes that the 300 male and female are representative of the executives of all businesses. It is possible that the selected executives were not scientifically selected. Perhaps, they were selected as per the convenience of the individual carrying out the study. If this is the case then the assumption of author that 300 male and female of the study are representative is questioned.

Secondly, the author assumes that hours of sleep per night is directly related to the profit margins and growth. It is possible that higher profit margins and faster are not the function of lesser hours of sleep rather the higher efficiency of workers. It is also possible that workers who sleep less hours work for higher number of hours. If this is the case than the authors assumption that the profit margins and growth are sole function of less number of sleeping hours is seriously undermined.

Thirdly, the author assumes that all the business are similar in terms of their working condition and direction of work. It is possible that different business have different working conditions. A established business may not require its employees to work as many hours as a growing business is asking to do. If this is the case then argument doe not hold water.

In conclusion, the author might be correct in his statement that for a business to prosper it should hire people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night, however, the author should provide sufficient information for the validity of this argument. If the author fails to provide sufficient information than the persuasiveness of the argument is dramatically undermined.