Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student s field of study

Universities are places that molds a student in a way to cope up in the particular field of study. In other words, they are the realms where a student shapes and develops himself with education and all the skill sets pertaining to their field of interest. The prompt recommends that every students should be obliged by Universities to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study. I mostly disagree with the claim and argue that students should not be obliged to take variety of courses and rather students should be urged to take courses of their interest.

Firstly, every student are built different and they have their own particualr field of interest. Students can perform with alacrity and zeal when they remain in the realm of their interest. For instance: A group of professors and students have developed and programming tool 'R', which was possible with equal contributions of the individuals of group. Students also could contribute to the project as they had interest in programming. Had those students compelled by University to take courses of music, dance or sports, they would not be able to contribute to the project. Even if they contributed it would not be to the extent of former case.

Secondly, Although the primary reason for attending university is education, students have different plans, aspirations, and goals after their degree. There a multiple carrer options after University education, some student dream of being researcher, some enterprenuer, some sportsperson etc. For instance: some students in US get admitted to university with sole aim to get into National Basketball Association (NBA). They are attend university just to receive passing grade which they obtain with little effort. They concentrate on basketball solely with unterminated focus to enter into NBA. Such students, if required by universities to take different courses, will lose their focus and cannot work on developing their game.

Thirdly, Concentration on a particular field of interest can make a individual connoisseur in that particular field, but in some cases holistic approach is required to solve real time issues. In other words, copius amount of knowledge in a particular field sometimes is not sufficient enough to get rid of pragmatic problems. For instance: we are already acquainted about the hot topic of this century 'climate change' and several research activities are being conducted to alleviate the problems engendered by climate change. These research activities have been done by holistic approach; collaboration of the specialists from different sectors like environment, agriculture, forestry, water resource specialists etc. Had the universities not acquainted about climate change to its students from different backgrounds it would be a bit difficult to begin the research and draw relevant conclusions.

In conclusion, there are some benefits offered to the students by university obliging students to take a variety of courses outside of their field of study, but the merits put forth by encouraging students to focus in their field of interest outweighs the former. Rather than requiring every student to take variety of courses university should put forth the choices by which students can take courses pertaining to their field of study.