The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the statement proposed that constructing new attractive dormitories would attract prospective students to enroll more at Buckinghan College. The author also states a few evidenances to support his argument. But he forgots about the many other factors that would likely to play important roles in decidion making.

Firstly, in the main statement, author was motivated for the new dormitories, which would attract new students to enroll at the college. But he forgets about the other factors which would play the important roles in decidion making of the prospective students. Factors like quality of faculty at the college, reputation of the college, after study support that college provides to find their first job are much more important to students rather than new attractive dormitories.

Secondly, author predicts that enrollment would get double in next 50 years. One might say he is thinking a way ahead of a time or he is a man of plannning, who loves to plan things in advance. But he forgets who dynamic the time is. I next 50 years, might be a case, number of enrollments decrease rather than increase, then contructing the new dormitories would not be a good idea, it would be merely a waste of money and resources. To be frank, no one knows what is going to happen in next few seconds, so how one can predict of 50 years ahead.

In conclusion, the statement proposed by the author has many flaws and without considering them one can not predict that new dormitories would attract more prospective students.